Friday, June 18, 2010

Article Celebrates Past Derleth Prize Winners

August Derleth (pictured above) was, as any UW-Madison writer knows, a prolific and multi-talented Wisconsin writer. Each spring the August Derleth Society awards a $1,000 prize for outstanding writing in the tradition of Aug (as the Society calls him) to one of our graduate students. In its June issue, the Society's Journal has a wonderful article about the prize's recipients from Doyle Wesley Walls, the first winner in 1986, to current MFA poet Kai Carlson-Wee, the 2010 recipient. The article not only names all the past Derleth prize winners, but catches us up on what many of them are doing now. It's a really nice walk down memory lane, especially for those of us who have worked with many of the winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment