Thursday, April 7, 2011

Brittingham and Pollak Winners read Thursday, 4/14!

Jacqueline Jones LaMon & Alison Stine

7:00 pm, Thursday April 14th
Helen C. White #6191

The two winners of this year's Brittingham and Pollak Prizes in Poetry (from the University of Wisconsin Press, selected by Cornelius Eady) will give a reading on Thursday, April 14th at 7:00 pm in Helen C. White 6191. Our two readers for the evening (and their winning books) are Alison Stine (Wait) and Jacqueline Jones LaMon (Last Seen).

Jacqueline Jones LaMon is the author of two books of poetry: Last Seen (winner of the Felix Pollak Prize in Poetry) and Gravity, USA, winner of the Quercus Review Poetry Series Award. She has also written a novel, In the Arms of One Who Loves Me, and was a Cave Canem Fellow. She is currently the director of the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Adelphi University.

Alison Stine is also the author of two books of poetry: Wait (winner of the Brittingham Prize in Poetry) and Ohio Violence; she has also written musicals and plays. She has received a Ruth Lily Fellowship, a Wallace Stegner Fellowship, and a Breadloaf Writers' Conference scholarship.

No comments:

Post a Comment